The Key To Successful Retail Product Packaging Solution

The Key To Successful Retail Product Packaging Solution

It started all early when I first saw a video on YouTube about getting started with custom packaging. Here, I got to see some of the successful packaging tips from expert, who learned during her career. Her insights into what retailers actually need helped be design packages, which will deliver delight to not just the consumers but to retail buyers alike. I always thought of trying things out of the box and nothing seems more perfect than starting my own retail product packaging plan. But before any of that, I wanted to know the success steps behind it. For that, I started researching quite a bit and finally came across some useful points. I am pretty sure that sharing these points will help you in your Product Packaging Solution easily.

Get to learn the retail business:

While the packaging companies focus their efforts on manufacturing efficiency and even package performance, they are always in need to begin paying added attention to issues. It will help in driving the retail success to another new level. When I first started working on this section, I came across some topics that retailers deal with on regular basis, but somehow can prove to be foreign to majority packaging professionals. Some of those are planogram development, sell-through, syndicate data and seasonality.

Understanding the success story:

Understanding what will drive more success of consumer items at retail and how to measure that and get rewarded is always the first step in increasing value of firm. The value will increase among supply chain and other retail partners associated with Retail Product Packaging Solution now. This is how I gained my initial support instantly.

Get to focus on the buyer:

Most of the packaging sales teams just like me, will spend years to focus on avoiding procurement teams or very least, working around the area of packaging procurement. Their main aim is to build relationships to fulfillment houses, marketers and even co-packers. This strategy might have served me well and might be aligned to firm dynamic of the industrial companies, but there is a catch. Retail buyers are not always in same position as industrial procurement team.

These buyers will actually occupy central role in most retail firms. They will evaluate directly depending on sales success of the item and then buy it. However, with so many competing issues crossing our desks, packaging seems always overlooked.

Designing for the perfect price point:

I know retailers who focus on delivering customers right items at correct prices through proficient channels. Whenever packaging firms create options for retailers, they have to know that a price will determine key costing variables in supply chain of the items. I have heard about way too many companies tout added consumer benefits and instantly link those to the price differential. If this is your strategy, then you need more than just gut feelings or consumer insights for gaining traction with retailer.

 

 

Published by Rohit Mehra

I am Rohit Mehra.

Leave a comment